Forever – April 26th 2017

SPOILER ALERT: IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN THE MOVIE La La Land YET, I SUGGEST YOU SKIP THIS POST AND GO READ ANOTHER ONE.
MY PERSONAL FAVORITE AT THE MOMENT IS OPEN LETTER #1 (SO GO HAVE A LOOK AT IT.) 🙂
Love,
C.G xxx

I watched La La Land with my mother last night and it has taught me a few things.

  1. My feet get cold when I don’t steal Mum’s blanket.
  2. Dad is very noisy when he gets home from work.
  3. My computer doesn’t want to connect to Chromecast so I had to do a weird little something to it so it sees the TV and we can actually have a good movie quality.
  4. I don’t like Jazz. Never have, never will.
  5. Sometimes, what you think will last forever actually doesn’t. Last forever, that is. Does that make sense? Let me explain.

At the end of the movie, you see Mia (Emma Stone) leaving with a man who happens to be her husband and father of her daughter. But right before that, you have an idea of what could have happened if she had stayed with Seb (Ryan Gosling).

At this very moment of the movie, I realized something. When you love someone, you always think it will last forever.
When I had my first boyfriend, I was 97% sure I’d marry him. When he left me, I thought it was the end of my world. Yet here I am, sitting on my parent’s couch, writing a blog post about it.
When I started dating this other guy and we went our separate ways, I thought that I was going to die from a broken heart. I was desperate and depressing. I still am, to be honest… But not for the same reasons.
I dated a few other guys during my life but it never lead to anything serious.

I saw, in the movie, how you can be happy with someone who is not your first love, first kiss, first time, first whatever.
I saw how the smallest decision can change an entire lifetime.
I saw how a single note on a piano can make you sad or happy, remind you things and make you imagine.

The movie ends on the young mother leaving with her new husband after a little smile that says a lot about her feelings. It’s like she tells him “Hey, I still love you.” when she can’t really because she is married and has a little girl back at home.

The point is: I am 20 years young and I always thought my world was falling apart when a guy was leaving me. I always thought they believed it when they said “I’ll love you forever”.
But growing up and after seeing this movie, I learned this important thing: forever doesn’t really exist. Every single person on Earth has a different vision of what forever is.

When you’re young and say you’ll love someone forever, you don’t realize what you’re saying and you know you’ll love them for a few months, maybe a year.
When you’re older and get a better idea of what forever is, you get scared of it.
But when you’re the oldest kind of old and realize that forever is long gone, you think to yourself that you were stupid back then.

Here’s to a forever and ever after, here’s to tomorrow, here’s to never saying “always”.

Love,

C.G xxx

Leave a Reply

